Is Modelo Gluten-Free? All You Need to Know

Is Modelo Gluten-Free? All You Need to Know

Many people are on a diet to lose weight and wonder if is Modelo gluten-free. Unfortunately, the answer is no. None of the Modelo variations are gluten-free and all are made from grains that contain gluten.

Modelo beer is manufactured by one of the largest breweries in Mexico, Cervecería Modelo, and is owned by Belgian company AB InBev. The company also produces famous beers like Corona and Pacifico and exports them to over 70 countries. There’s nothing like opening up a Modelo on a hot summer day and imagining you’re on a tropical beach in Mexico.

Don’t worry; The gluten-free beer industry is at its best, with new breweries and craft beers popping up all the time. Read on to learn more about Modelo beer and why you should avoid them if you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Is Modelo Gluten-Free
Modelo beer

Is Modelo Gluten-Free? No, Here’s Why

Modelo, a Mexican beer, is the number one imported beer in the US. The popular macro beer contains barley malt, making it similar to other gluten-free beers. Modelo uses a type of barley known as malted barley which is different from the other varieties used to make many beers. Malted barley is a low-protein form of grain and is grown under specific conditions to ensure that it is devoid of certain proteins.

However, beer still contains gluten. The gluten level is around 20 ppm, which puts it within the line established by the FDA to indicate whether a food not contains gluten.

Is the Modelo Healthy?

Beer may have some health benefits, such as reducing the risk of heart disease and Osteoporosis. However, heavy or binge drinking beer can lead to conditions such as cancer, liver, and heart disease. Brewers make beer by fermenting starch, usually malted barley, with yeast.

There are low-calorie beers on the market, but they contain less alcohol than their full-calorie counterparts. With this in mind, you should only drink beer in moderation if you’re watching your weight.

Also Read: Midwives Brew: 85% Successful Drink To Induce Labor Naturally

Modelo Especial Beer Ingredients

Modelo Especial Beer is brewed as the model of a fine beer, this rich and flavor-packed Pilsner offers a fresh and refreshing taste. It’s lower on the gluten scale than other beers with only 20 ppm, but should still be avoided if you have celiac or gluten intolerance.

Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Barley Malt
  • Non-Malted Cereals
  • Hops

Nutrition Facts (per 12 oz):

  • 143 Calories
  • 0 g Total Fat
  • 0 g Saturated Fat
  • 0 g Trans Fat
  • 0 mg Cholesterol
  • 0 mg Sodium
  • 6 g Total Carbohydrates
  • 0 g Dietary Fiber
  • 0 g Sugars
  • 1 g Protein
  • 4% ABV

Modelo Chelada Especial

Modelo Cheladas is designed to provide an authentic and refreshing michelada experience. Michelada is a prepared Mexican beer that usually includes tomatoes, salt, lime, and of course a variety of Mexican beer.

Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Barley Malt
  • Non-malted Cereals
  • Hops
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Artificial Sweeteners
  • Certified Colors

Nutrition Facts (per 12 oz):

  • 144 Calories
  • 0 g Total Fat
  • 0 g Saturated Fat
  • 0 g Trans Fat
  • 0 mg Cholesterol
  • 440 mg Sodium
  • 5 g Total Carbohydrates
  • 0 g Dietary Fiber
  • 0 g Sugars
  • 1 g Protein
  • 5% ABV

Modelo Negra

Modelo Negra Beer: Brewed twice as long as other beers, this Munich Dunkel-style lager has a rich flavor and a remarkably smooth finish.

Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Barley Malt
  • Non-malted Cereals
  • Hops

Nutrition Facts (per 12 oz):

  • 173 Calories
  • 0 g Total Fat
  • 0 g Saturated Fat
  • 0 g Trans Fat
  • 0 mg Cholesterol
  • 15 mg Sodium
  • 8 g Total Carbohydrates
  • 0 g Dietary Fiber
  • 0 g Sugars
  • 1 g Protein
  • 4% ABV

Conclusion

Modelo is a great beer with a rich heritage. Unfortunately, it’s not gluten-free, but it is lower in gluten than other popular brands at only 20 ppm. If you’re looking for a gluten-free beer, there are many options available from craft brewers across the country.

Modelo Beer FAQs

Does Modelo Beer Have Sugar?

No, Modelo does not use sugar in its recipe, as some beers do.

When Does Beer Expire?

Short answer, yes. Beers do really expire but they won’t become unsafe to drink after a time. However, the taste of older beer will change completely. But stored correctly, the effects of aged beer on your body will be no different from freshly bottled beer.

Is Beer Bad for Diabetics?

Moderate alcohol consumption (no more than one or two drinks per day) is generally safe for most people with diabetes. Avoid drinking on an empty stomach and check your blood sugar levels frequently while drinking for up to 24 hours after you stop drinking. You should also stick to light beers as they tend to be lower in carbs.

Is the Modelo Beer Suitable for Vegans?

Yes, Modelo is a vegan. Modelo does not use gelatin of animal origin which some beers use.